## IEEE MASARU IBUKA CONSUMER ELECTRONICS AWARD RECIPIENTS

2018 - LINUS BENEDICT TORVALDS Fellow, Linux Foundation, San Francisco, California, USA "For his leadership of the development and proliferation of Linux."

2017 - JOHN O' SULLIVAN
Electrical Engineer, Taggle Systems,
Everleigh, Australia

"For pioneering contributions to high-speed wireless LAN technology."

AND

DAVID SKELLERN Chairman, Capital Markets CRC Limited, Sydney, Australia

**AND** 

TERENCE PERCIVAL
Director (Retired), Broadband and
the Digital Economy, NICTA,
Northbridge, Australia

2016 – STEVEN J. SASSON
President, Steven J. Sasson
Consulting LLC, Hilton, New York,
USA

"For designing and building the first digital still camera."

2015 - MARTIN COOPER Chair, Dyna LLC, Del Mar, California, USA "For pioneering contributions to mobile wireless technology, including the first handheld cellular telephone."

2014 - NOT AWARDED

2013 - MARTIN DIETZ Vice President, EMEA and Business Strategy, Dolby Laboratories, Nürnberg, Germany "For pioneering innovations in digital audio coding, technology leadership, and contributions to the development of High-Efficiency AAC ("HE-AAC")."

AND

KRISTOFER KJÖRLING Principal Member Technical Staff, Dolby Laboratories, Stockholm, Sweden

AND

LARS LILJERYD
Principal Member Technical Staff and
Senior Advisor Research, Dolby
Laboratories, Stockholm, Sweden

2012 - GISLE BJØNTEGAARD Chief Scientist, Tandberg Telecom, Lysaker Norway "For leadership and technical contributions to the development of the globally deployed video coding standard H.264/MPEG4-AVC."

AND

GARY J. SULLIVAN

## IEEE MASARU IBUKA CONSUMER ELECTRONICS AWARD RECIPIENTS

Video and Image Technology Architect, Microsoft Corporation, Redmond, WA, USA

#### AND

THOMAS WIEGAND
Chair Image Communication,
Fraunhofer Institute for
Telecommunications – Heinrich
Hertz Institute, Head Image
Processing Department & Berlin
University of Technology,
Berlin, Germany

2011 - JOAN LAVERNE MITCHELL Ricoh /IBM InfoPrint Solutions Company, Boulder, CO, USA "For fundamental contributions to image compression in printing technology and digital image processing in consumer electronics."

2010 – JAMES BARTON CTO, Sr. VP Research & Dev, Director and Co-Founder TiVo, Inc. Alviso, CA, USA "For contributions to the development and commercialization of digital video recorders."

2009 – EUGENE J. POLLEY
Retired Engineer, Head of Video
Recording Group, Zenith Electronics
Lincolnshire, IL, USA

"For contributions to the technology of the wireless remote control for television and other consumer electronic products."

2008 - RALPH H. BAER Chief Engineer, RH Baer Consultants, Manchester, NH, USA "For commercialization of interactive video games and other consumer toys"

2007 – TOMLINSON HOLMAN
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA, USA

"For engineering contributions and innovative developments in audio and cinema multichannel playback systems."

2006 – WAYNE BRETL R&D Manager Zenith Electronics Corporation Lincolnshire, IL, USA "For contributions to the development of the vestigal sideband (VSB) digital transmission system for digital television broadcasting"

AND

RICHARD CITTA Chief Scientist Micronas Palatine, IL, USA

AND

WAYNE LUPLOW Vice President Zenith Electronics Corporation

## IEEE MASARU IBUKA CONSUMER ELECTRONICS AWARD RECIPIENTS

Lincolnshire, IL, USA

2005 - No Award

2004 - KARLHEINZ BRANDENBURG
Professor & Head of Department of
Electronic Media Technique
University of Ilmenau,
Erlangen, Germany

"For major contributions to digital audio source coding."

2003 - RICHARD H. SMALL
Senior Principal Engineer,
Harmon Becker Automotive
Systems, Inc.
Martinsville, IN, USA

For major contributions to the synthesis and analysis of loudspeakers."

AND

NEVILLE THIELE Honorary Research Associate Univ of Sydney, Sydney, Australia

2002 – TAKASHI FUJIO

Lecturer, Himeji Institute of
Technology, Engineering
Department, Japan

"For pioneering contributions to the research and development of High Definition Television."

**AND** 

KOZO HAYASHI Senior Executive Director, Sharp Corporation, Tokyo, Japan

AND

MASAO SUGIMOTO Executive Corporate Engineering Advisor, Pioneer Corporation, Tokyo, Japan

AND

MASAHIKO MORIZONO Chief Advisor of Technology, Sony Corporation, Tokyo, Japan

AND

YUICHI NINOMIYA
Executive Research Engineer, Japan
Broadcasting Corporation, Director,
NHK Science & Technical Research
Laboratories, Tokyo, Japan

2001 – ULRICH REIMERS
Institute of Nachrichtentechnik
Vechelde, Germany

"For visionary leadership in the development of digital video broadcast (DVB) Standards and implementation guidelines for satellite, terrestrial and cable equipment."

# IEEE MASARU IBUKA CONSUMER ELECTRONICS AWARD RECIPIENTS

2000 - MARVIN H. WHITE
Lehigh University
Bethlehem, PA, USA

"For pioneering and innovative contributions to the development of low-light level, solid-state imagers used in consumer products."

1999 - LEONARDO CHIARIGLIONE CSELT Torino, Italy "For technical leadership in the development of the Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG) international standards for motion video and audio."

1998 - JERROLD A. HELLER Consultant Encinitas, CA, USA "For visionary engineering leadership in the development of digital television for broadcast, cable and satellite applications."

1997 - RAY M. DOLBY Dolby Laboratories, Inc. San Francisco, CA, USA "For outstanding contributions to the development of audio noise reduction and surround sound systems."

1996 - KEES A. SCHOUHAMER IMMINK Philips Research Labs Eindhoven, The Netherlands "For pioneering contributions to consumer digital audio and video recording products."

1995 - IRVING S. REED University of California, Los Angeles, CA, USA "For contributions to basic error correcting codes, specifically the Reed-Solomon Codes, which have led to the compaction of data and made possible a generation of consumer compact optical disk products."

AND
GUSTAVE SOLOMON
Private Consultant and Lecturer

Los Angeles, CA, USA

1994 -CARL G. EILERS
Zenith Electronics Corporation
Glenview, IL, USA

"For pioneering contributions to FM stereophonic and television multichannel sound broadcasting systems."

1993 - GEORGE L. BRANTINGHAM Texas Instruments, Avezanno, Italy

"For pioneering contributions to consumer electronics products employing synthetic speech for education and entertainment."

AND

PAUL S. BREEDLOVE CompuAdd, Austin, TX, USA

AND

RICHARD H. WIGGINS Texas Instruments, Dallas, TX, USA

1992 - ISAMU WASHIZUKA Sharp Corp. "For demonstrating technical feasibility of large size color LCD displays suitable for

# IEEE MASARU IBUKA CONSUMER ELECTRONICS AWARD RECIPIENTS

1991 - GILBERT F. AMELIO
Rockwell Commun. Systems
Richardson, TX, USA

Nara, Japan

1990 - NORMAN L. STAUFFER Honeywell

Littleton, CO, USA

1989 - HEITARO NAKAJIMA SONY Corp. Tokyo, Japan

**AND** 

JOHANNES PETRUS SIJOU Philips International The Netherlands consumer TV applications."

"For contributions to the development of charge-coupled device image sensors, leading to their near universal use in consumer video cameras."

"For basic inventions leading to the development of the auto focus camera."

"For technical innovation and leadership in the development of the digital audio compact disk system and the achievement of international cooperation in both the development and introduction of this system."