IEEE RICHARD W. HAMMING MEDAL RECIPIENTS

2011	TOBY BERGER Irwin and Joan Jacobs Professor Engineering, Emeritus, Cornell University, and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA, USA	"For contributions to Information Theory, including source coding and its applications."
2010 AND	WHITFIELD DIFFIE Vice President, Fellow and Chief Security Officer, Sun Microsystems, Menlo Park, CA, USA, MARTIN HELLMAN Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University,	"For the invention of public key cryptography and its application to secure communications."
AND	Stanford, CA, USA,	
2009	PETER FRANASZEK IBM Research, Research, Yorktown Heights, NY, USA	"For pioneering contributions to the theory and practice of constrained channel coding."
2008	SERGIO VERDU Prof. of Electrical Engineering, Princeton Univ., Princeton, NJ, USA	"For fundamental contributions to information theory and the development of multiuser detection."
2007	ABRAHAM LEMPEL Director of the HP Labs Advanced Studies Program and Director of HP Labs Israel, Hewlett-Packard Labs, Haifa, Israel	"For pioneering work in data compression especially the Lempel-Ziv algorithm."
2006	VLADIMIR I. LEVENSHTEIN Leading Scientific Researcher, Keldysh Institute for Applied Mathematics, Moscow, Russia	"For contributions to the theory of error-correcting codes and information theory, including the Levenshtein distance."
2005	NEIL J.A. SLOANE Technology Leader, AT&T Labs, Florham Park, NJ, USA	"For contributions to coding theory and its applications to communications, computer science, mathematics and statistics."
2004	JACK K. WOLF Stephen O. Rice Prof, Dept of E&CE and Endowed Chair, Center for Magnetic Recording Research Univ. of California, San Diego, La Jolla, CA, USA	"For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of information transmission and storage."

IEEE RICHARD W. HAMMING MEDAL RECIPIENTS

2003	CLAUDE BERROU and ALAIN GLAVIEUX Professors, Ecole Nationale Superieure des Telecommunications de Bretagne, Brest, France	"For the invention of turbo codes, which have revolutionized digital communications."
2002	PETER ELIAS MIT, Cambridge, MA, USA	"For fundamental and pioneering contributions to information theory and its applications."
2001	A.G. (SANDY) FRASER Chief Scientist, AT&T Research Labs, Florham Park, NJ, USA	"For pioneering contributions to the architecture of communication networks through the development of virtual circuit switching technology."
2000	SOLOMON W. GOLOMB University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA	"For fundamental contributions to the theory of shift register sequences and their applications in digital communications.
1999	DAVID A. HUFFMAN University of California Santa Cruz, CA, USA	"For design procedures of minimum redundancy (Huffman) codes and asynchronous sequential circuits, and contributions to analysis of visual imagery."
1998	DAVID D. CLARK MIT, Cambridge, MA, USA	"For leadership and major contributions to the architecture of the Internet as a universal information medium"
1997	THOMAS M. COVER Stanford University Stanford, CA, USA	"For fundamental contributions to information and communication theory, statistics and pattern recognition."
1996	MARK S. PINSKER Institute for Information Transmission Problems (IITP) Russian Academy of Sciences Moscow, Russia	"For outstanding contributions to information theory, statistical estimation and coding theory."
1995	JACOB ZIV Technion-Israel Inst. of Tech. Haifa, Israel	"For contributions to information theory, and the theory and practice of data compression."
1994	GOTTFRIED UNGERBOECK IBM Zürich Research Laboratory Ruschlikon, Switzerland	"For the development and application of trellis modulation to digital communications."
1993	JORMA J. RISSANEN IBM Corporation San Jose, CA, USA	"For fundamental contributions to information theory, statistical inference, control theory, and the theory of complexity."
1992	LOTFI A. ZADEH University of California Berkeley, CA, USA	"For seminal contributions to information science and systems, including the conceptualization of fuzzy sets."

IEEE RICHARD W. HAMMING MEDAL RECIPIENTS

1991	ELWYN R. BERLEKAMP AXCOM, Inc. Berkeley, CA, USA	"For profound contributions to the theory and application of error-correcting codes."
1990	DENNIS M. RITCHIE and KENNETH L. THOMPSON AT& T Bell Laboratories Murray Hill, NJ, USA	"For the origination of the UNIX operating system and the C programming language."
1989	IRVING S. REED University of Southern California Los Angeles, CA, USA	"For contributions to multiple error-correcting codes, digital computer design, and automatic detection and processing of signals in noise."
1988	RICHARD W. HAMMING U.S. Naval Postgrad. School Monterey, CA, USA	"For exceptional and pioneering contributions to information sciences and systems, and for inspiring generations of researchers in these fields."