Call for Nominations Editor-In-Chief ACM Transactions on Mathematical Software

The term of the current Editors-in-Chief (EiCs) of the <u>ACM Transactions on Mathematical Software</u> (TOMS) is coming to an end, and the <u>ACM</u> Publications Board has set up a nominating committee to assist the Board in selecting new EiC leadership. TOMS documents the theoretical underpinnings of numeric, symbolic, algebraic, and geometric computing applications. It focuses on analysis and construction of algorithms and programs, and the interaction of programs and architecture. Algorithms documented in TOMS are available as the Collected Algorithms of the ACM at <u>calgo.acm.org</u>. TOMS was established in 1975; it was the first ACM journal to develop a separate reviewing process to enhance the reproducibility of presented research and reuse generated artifacts.

Nominations, including self-nominations, are invited for a three-year term as TOMS EiC, beginning on September 1, 2024. The previous EiC role was handle by two co-EiCs in a partnership. We welcome nominations, including joint self-nominations, for co-EiCs. The EiC appointment may be renewed at most one time. This is a voluntary position, but ACM will provide appropriate administrative support.

Appointed by the ACM Publications Board, Editors-in-Chief (EiCs) of ACM journals are delegated full responsibility for the journal's editorial management consistent with the journal's charter and general ACM policies. The Board relies on EiCs to ensure that the journal's content is of high quality and that the editorial review process is both timely and fair. They have the final say on the acceptance of papers, the Editorial Board size, and Associate Editors' appointment. The <u>ACM Volunteer Editors Position Description</u> contains a complete list of responsibilities. Self-nominations are encouraged and should include a CV and a statement of the candidate's vision for the future development of TOMS.

The deadline for submitting nominations is June 17, 2024, although nominations will continue to be accepted until the position is filled. Please send all nominations to the search committee chair, Michael Heroux (maherou@sandia.gov).

The search committee members are:

- Michael Heroux (Sandia National Laboratories), Chair
- Hartwig Anzt (Technical University Munich)
- Cédric Chevalier (CEA, Paris)
- Edmond Chow (Georgia Tech)
- Xiaoye (Sherry) Li (Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory)
- Ulrike Meier Yang (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)

The ACM Publications Board Liaison is: Adelinde Uhrmacher (University of Rostock).